Current issues


Parliament elected Speaker and Deputy Speakers

Parliament of Finland elected new Speakers on Friday 29th May. Maria Lohela of the Finns Party was elected as Speaker. Mauri Pekkarinen of the Centre Party was elected as 1st Deputy Speaker and Paula Risikko of the National Coalition Party as 2nd Deputy Speaker.

 Press releases



Parliament elected Speaker and Deputy Speakers elected Speaker and Deputy Speakers2015-05-29T13:15:00Z
Parliament Elected New Prime Minister Elected New Prime Minister2015-05-28T13:25:00Z
OSCE PA President Kanerva met OSCE Chairman-in-Office Dacic in Belgrade PA President Kanerva met OSCE Chairman-in-Office Dacic in Belgrade2015-05-28T08:00:00Z
Government formation talks concluded formation talks concluded2015-05-27T07:00:00Z
Application period for researcher’s places’s-places.aspxApplication period for researcher’s places2015-05-11T07:15:00Z
Election Winner Reveals Coming Government Parties Winner Reveals Coming Government Parties2015-05-07T15:05:00Z
The opening of the parliamentary session opening of the parliamentary session2015-04-29T11:00:00Z
Digital archives workstation temporarily unavailable archives workstation temporarily unavailable 2015-04-23T07:15:00Z
Two book scanners in the library book scanners in the library2015-04-23T06:15:00Z
Parliamentary Election Result Confirmed Election Result Confirmed2015-04-23T06:02:12Z

​Eduskunta, the Parliament of Finland

The supreme decision-making authority in Finland is exercised by Parliament. The 200 Members of Parliament are elected every four years using a direct proportional system. Parliament enacts legislation, approves the state budget, ratifies international treaties and oversees the Government.

Parliament has three key arenas: the plenary session makes final decisions, the committees prepare matters and the parliamentary groups shape policy. Legislation is enacted according to the Constitution and the Procedure of Parliament. The Speaker directs parliamentary work together with the Deputy Speakers and the Speaker's Council. The Parliamentary Office provides services for MPs and is headed by the Secretary General of Parliament.


OSCE Parliamentary Assembly in Helsinki on 5-9 July 2015

The 24th Annual Session of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly will be held in Helsinki, Finland on 5-9 July 2015. Eduskunta, the Parliament of Finland, hosted the Parliamentary Assembly in 1993 (photo). The theme for this year's Session is "Recalling the Spirit of Helsinki," a reference to the OSCE's founding document, the Helsinki Final Act, which was signed in the Finnish capital in 1975. Read more.


Parliament convenes in temporary facilities

The 1931 Parliament House has closed for extensive renovations. After the April 2015 parliamentary election Parliament of Finland will convene in the nearby Sibelius-Academy concert hall, which has been refurbished to fit the needs of parliament. Parliament will return to its own building in time for Centenary celebrations of Finnish Independence in the fall of 2017.


Speaker and deputy speakers

Parliament elects among its members a Speaker and two deputy speakers during the first plenary session each year.


Visitors' Centre

At the Visitors' Centre, operating in the Little Parliament, you will find information about Parliament.

The Library of Parliament

The Library of Parliament is open to the public.


Media work in the Parliament

Guide for visiting journalists.