Skip main navigation

Direct link to content

Parliament Elected New Prime Minister

Published 12/10/2019 2:25 PM

Parliament Elected New Prime Minister

Parliament of Finland elected MP Sanna Marin as new Prime Minister of Finland by votes 99-70. 

The President of the Republic Sauli Niinistö formally appoints the new government on Tuesday December 10th 2019. The Government programme is scheduled to be discussed in the plenary session on Monday December 16th.

Mrs Marin has been a member of parliament from 2015, and has acted as vice chairman of the Social Democratic Party of Finland from 2014. Before being elected to Prime Minister she acted as Minister of Transport and Communications. 


Parliament elected the prime minister in plenary session on 10 December (in Finnish)

Prime Minister Sanna Marin met representatives of the media after the plenary session (in Finnish)